craftredo

Just another WordPress.com site

Ardith’s Sweet Salsa Dip February 19, 2012

Not only is this recipe tasty, it’s good lookin’ too.

This recipe comes with a funny story. My mom was attending her class reunion planning committee meeting, when the discussion moved to food and ‘who’ was going to bring ‘what’ – this recipe was brought up and everyone encouraged my mom to bring it. Mom could not recall bringing this recipe (or ever making it in her lifetime), but everyone on her committee was sure she was the one who brought this salsa to the last reunion. She kept denying that the recipe was hers, but the ownership stuck and nobody laid claim to it – so she had to figure a way to discretely get the recipe from one of her classmates.

Mom and I reviewed the recipe. We laughed and laughed because this is 100% absolutely NOT a recipe she would make, nor would my dad ever, EVER eat a recipe that contained ingredients such as ‘black beans’ or ‘black-eyed peas’. She made it for the reunion and upon entering, about 5 attendees asked ‘Where is Ardith’s Sweet Salsa Dip’. So, this is a very treasured family recipe, that has been passed on from one generation to the next. Feel free to coin it as your own, who knows – it may be yours. Oh, by the way – my dad loves, loves, loves this recipe. He’ll even eat it for breakfast.

Ingredients:

Rinse and drain 1 cup each (I usually just pour in the entire can, because what are you going to do with the tiny amount of left-overs):

  • Corn (I usually use white corn)
  • Black Beans
  • Black-Eyed Peas

I divide my mixing bowl into 4 sections, place each veggie in their own section so it’s easier to chop up equal amounts of these 4 ingredients

Clean and chop 1 cup each:

  • Celery
  • Small Onion (I have used White, Yellow and Spanish Onions. I haven’t found one that I like better than the other. I’m sure there’s a difference, but I can’t tell.)
  • Green Pepper
  • Red Pepper

I don’t always use exactly 1 cup of each veggie. I divide my mixing bowl into 4 sections, place each veggie in their own section so it’s easier to chop up equal amounts of these 4 ingredients – making sure I roughly have about 1 cup of each ingredient.

Boil:

  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon Pepper
  • 1 tablespoon Water
  • 3/4 cup Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 cup Sugar

    Cloudy

Bring these ingredients to a boil. I don’t boil it very long, just until it’s no longer cloudy (this takes a few minutes). Continually stir while it’s cooking.

Combine the canned items and chopped veggies in a big serving bowl. After the boiled mixture you’ve made on the stove cools, pour it over the canned items and veggies. Stir entire mixture together. Cover and refrigerate until ready to eat. Serve with TOSTITOS® SCOOPS!® Tortilla Chips OR Fritos® Corn Chips www.fritolay.com. Mixture is really good the next day too.

Clear

 

Leave a Reply

