craftredo

Just another WordPress.com site

Entertainment Center = Bench February 19, 2012

When we bought our flat screen TV, our enormous, oak entertainment center had no purpose. We called several resale shops and donation centers, but nobody wanted the poor thing. They said it was obsolete. I mentioned to John how he could truncate the piece and turn it into a bench (I’ve always wanted a bench in our foyer). He wasn’t too certain it could be done, he just couldn’t see my vision. I tried persuasion, complementation, encouragement, double dares and threats – he still couldn’t visualize it. I gave up on my persuasions and put it on MY ‘to do list’. One day I would feel brave and strong enough to hold up the heavy piece and just go for it. I’m not sure if John knew I would be crazy enough to try the transformation myself or if he actually saw the same vision, but I came home one day and there it was, the bench I was looking for. He said it really wasn’t too hard to do, either.

John did a fantastic job with the bench, it couldn’t be more perfect. The doors on the left hold mittens and hats. The drawer on the right holds wooden puzzles and games. I often catch the kids sitting on it and reading. I have fabric to sew a cushion for it, but that’s on my ‘to do list’. I just wish I had a before photo to show you. I know I have one, somewhere – when I come across it, I’ll post it. You really need to see the before photo to appreciate the bench. We saved beautiful wood from a landfill and I finally got my beloved bench.

You will need:

  • Entertainment Center
  • Saw
  • Nails (Finish Nails – size will depend on your piece. John used 2 1/2”)
  • Putty
  • Pry Bar

Directions (In John’s words):

I first cut the sides and middle supports with a sawsall at the base. Then turned the upright supports with the top still attached upside down and removed the uprights from the top with a flat pry bar. (This model was nailed with a 2 1/2” finish nail). I then removed the nails from the top section and placed it on top of what was the bottom or cabinet section of the entertainment center. Make sure you have a smooth surface where you cut the uprights off so that the top will have a level area to bear on.  Take 2 1/2” finish nails and nail the top to the cabinet, fill holes with wood putty. I took a touch up marker for wood furniture and stained the putty to a color that matched the rest of the bench.

Pin It

 

Leave a Reply

